Injury prevention tips

Gainera2582

Power and Agility
I am sure a lot of you are into fitness. Whether its weightlifting, mountain biking, swimming, boxing, plyometrics, calisthenics, or even cross training will gain you strength and endurance.

However, we never really talk about recovery methods or things we can do to enhance are performance and can prevent injury down the road. For example, golfers are sure to have lower back hip issues because they are always swinging on one side of the body and their mobility in their shoulders and hips is poor, which leads to your body depending on other areas to pick up the slack(aka the lower back). Sure, stretching may make it feel better, but it doesn't always work and possibly can hurt you more than it helps(I will explain further below).

So what is the solution or what steps can we take to keep our body 100%? I will suggest 7 things that can be part of your program.

NOTE: I AM NOT A DOCTOR, AND IF YOU HAVE SERIOUS HEALTH ISSUES OR SEVERE CHRONIC PAIN, PLEASE CONSULT YOUR DOCTOR FIRST. ATTEMPT AT YOUR OWN RISK.

1) Dynamic flexibility: Different than static stretching, this involves doing movement stretches that strengthen a muscle through its range of motion. This helps with joint mobility especially in the hip and shoulder region where it is much needed. Some examples of these exercises are arm circles, hip circles, leg swings front to back, side leg swings, ankle circles. You can even use bodyweight exercises such as jumping jacks, lunges, pushups, and bodyweight squats to prepare you before you ride/workout. In all drills, most movements start out slow, and slowly increase in speed. Keep in mind you are going through a full range of motion in the joint. Never sacrifice range of motion for speed.