My $220 Beach Cart

After looking around at beach carts for a while, I decided to make my own. The cheapest one I could find was a Tiger Tote for $535, plus the ~$100 oversized shipping charge that goes on top of that, you're looking at close to $650 for the cheapest beach cart I could find. Not terrible for what you get, but I still thought I could do just as good for a fraction of the cost. There are also used ones that come up from time to time, but that is pretty few and far between, and even then they still are fairly expensive (and rightfully so) and still a pain to ship.

I work as a design engineer and have access to a CAD program and my father in law is very crafty and has every tool imaginable. It was because I'm fortunate enough to have access to all the right tools that I decided to tackle this. I wasn't looking to reinvent the wheel, just make something that functions well for what I need it to do and do it at a lower cost than what I could purchase outright.

I started by researching existing carts and getting a feel for sizing. Then I started modeling what I wanted and talking it over with my father in law. He made a few good suggestions, I made some tweaks, and we locked in the design and got materials. I got all the aluminum I needed (for two carts) for $270, so $135 per cart. I got some used 18x8.5-8 tractor wheels off Craigslist for $50 a set, indoor/outdoor carpet from Menards for $10, and some pipe caps to fancy it up for $25 off Amazon.